top of page

The Baptism of The Great Commission

Updated: May 12, 2019


Forward From Colton Conn:

This is a letter my father wrote in the first year that he came to Jesus Christ. This was written after my Grandfather (His Dad) passed away, who was a preacher in the Church of Christ. The year my grandfather died was obviously hard and stressful, but despite it all my father still found truth in God. It was only a month into my fathers walk with Christ that my grandfather died, so it was a time of testing in many ways. However he still continued seeking the lord through reading the word, which was a battle itself since he is dyslexic. This is the letter that he wrote to his Brothers, Sisters, and widowed Mother. This is not to trample on the faith of you or any other believer in Christ, this is just what he felt led to share in his first year. It may be controversial to some but please read it to the end and maybe it will lead you into more understanding, or at the very least provoke thought and discussion.

God Bless You in your search for Truth!


 

Chris Conn's Forward To The Readers:


Dear family and friends,

You may or may not know that in the last year I have decided to follow Christ. There have been many trials, but God has kept His word. Not burdening me with more then I can handle. Yes I have fallen many times, but through His grace He has helped me stand again. If you have sought to walk with Christ you can probably relate to this. To my amazement in the past year I have spent most of my spare time reading the Bible. This is so unique to me because I have never in my liked to read. So much that I can honestly say I have never even read a book. Thanks be to the Lord Jesus Christ. For He has placed a burning desire in my heart to know Him. I don't know all there is to know about Him yet, but that's ok. For it is that not knowing that keeps me striving. There will come a day in which I will know. That precious and wonderful day when my Lord and Savior comes. In that joyous day I will have all the knowledge I desire.

I wanted to take this opportunity to let you all know I love the Lord. I hope and pray you all feel the same. I am sending this letter to lots of different people. I don't know where each of you are at this time in regard to God. I pray however that He will continue to work with each of you. Guiding you into all truth.

In my studies over the past year, I have truly drawn closer to God. I haven't read the entire Bible yet, but what I have read has truly touched my soul. Moving me to the point of writing this letter. Hoping the things with it will touch you also. You have probably noticed I have sent you an article on baptism. In it are some very important things that the Lord has revealed to us through the scriptures. In writing it I have tried not to twist or pervert the scriptures in any way. It also was not my hearts desire to personally offend anyone. I have just felt the need to share with you the things that His word that have been shared with me. I know we all have had loved ones pass away. It is not my place to judges anyone. So remember as you read I am not implying anything about them. They are in the Lord's hands. The Lord made a very harsh statement to one of His disciples: "Follow me; and let the dead bury their dead." The only way someone can change his or hers' eternity is while he or she is still alive. Our loved ones are in the Lords hands and we can't change, for better or worse, their eternity. We can however change ours.

I know the things in this study may differ from the way you have been taught. I humbly ask though in Christ that you read the whole thing. As you read pray for guidance. Honestly seeking to see the scriptures for what they say. The Lord Jesus Christ be with you amen.

In Christ,

-Chris Conn


 

THE BAPTISM OF THE GREAT COMMISSION:


Baptism in and of itself is very controversial subject. If I were to venture a guess, I would say there are hundreds if not thousands of different opinions on this subject. In this study I only intend to examine one of these widely spread opinions. In doing so we must remember the Bible is inspired by God. IT is His word and because it is, it must be the absolute authority on all the doctrines and teaching found in its pages. Throughout time man has in almost every church both denominational and non-denominational embraced one simple error making their baptism of no effect. I realize this statement may offend some, but let's remember as we go along, the Bible is our guide to the truth and it is my desire and the Lord's that the truth be found and taught. Remember what Paul wrote to Timothy.

"In humility connecting those who are in opposition, if God perhaps will grant repentance, so that they may come to their senses and escape the snare of the devil, having been taken captive by him to his will." 2nd Timothy 2:25-26

The error in question is quite simply this, "I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Ghost." WAIT! WAIT! WAIT! Where is the error here you may ask? Let's examine that verse in the Bible.

"Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost." Matthew 28:19

Let me help explain the error that is committed by reciting this verse during baptism, without actually doing what is commanded to do. "Baptizing them in the name (singular). The first thing we need to know in order to baptize someone the way God wants us to is this. We must know the name given in the Bible for Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

NOTE: The Apostles did not repeat the words of this commandment and they weren't expected to do so by the Lord. They did however obey baptizing the name not titles of the Father, Son and Holy Ghost. God is a title position not a name. We know that the Apostle Paul would not blaspheme the name of God, therefore if God is the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, Paul would be guilty of blasphemy.

"But even if our gospel is valid, it is to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them." 2 Corinthians 4: 3-4

Paul knew that God is not the name of the father, Son and Holy Ghost. If it were His name Paul would not have used it to describe the devil. In St. John 10 we see another example of what was thought to be blasphemy. The Son said, "I and my Father are one." After the Son made this statement there was quite an uproar. Let's go to the scriptures to see exactly what conspired after this statement was made.

"I and my father are one. Then the Jews took up stones again to stone him. Jesus answered them, many good works have I skewed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me? The Jews answered him saying, for a good we stone thee not; but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God. Jesus answered them, Is it not written in your law, I SAID, Ye are GODS? If he called them gods, unto whom the word of God came, and the scriptures cannot be broken; Say ye of him, whom the Father hath sanctified, and sent into the World, Thou blasphemest; because I said, I am the Son of God?" John 10:10-36

So we can conclude from these two portions of scripture God is a title or position NOT A NAME.

A. The name of the Father

"Oh righteous Father! The world has not known You, but I (THE SON) have known You; and these have known that You sent Me. And I (THE SON)have declared to them Your name, and will declare it, that the love with which You love Me may be in them, and I in them." John 17:25,26

If you and your dad were together and I walked up, you would say, "Hi Chris this is my dad Bob." You wouldn't just say "My dad." Otherwise how would I address him? The proper way to address him may be Mr. Bob Smith, which would be his name. However Dad or Father would only be a title that proves as the Father, but it is not His name.

"In this manner, therefore, pray; our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name." Matthew 6:9

"I (JESUS) have come in My Fathers name, and you do not receive Me; If another comes in his own name, him you will receive." John 5: 43

I as well as some of you am a father. My kids call me dad, but neither one is my name. WE can see from this verse that the title Father is just that a title not a name. God is our Holy Father but here again neither one is His name. You may still choose to believe that the name of God is Father or that Father is the name of God. However I must point out that if these were His name it would contradict with what the Bible says is the name of the true God.

"And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us an understanding that we know Him who is true; and we are in Him who is true, in His Son JESUS CHRIST. THIS IS THE TRUE GOD and eternal life. Little children, keep yourselves from idols."

1st John 5: 20,21

This may be hard for some to understand. Remember though even the disciples didn't fully understand at first.

"Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him. Philip saith unto him, Lord, show us the Father, and it sufficeth us. Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father? Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works." John 14:6-10

Jesus told His disciples in this portion of scripture, which is true without flaw, who He truly is. Yet they still didn't understand what he was saying to them. I hope and pray God is revealing to you what He is saying. In John 15:14 Jesus said to his disciples: "Ye are my friend, if ye do whatsoever I command you"

Are you at this time seeking to do whatsoever he commands? If you are, is He not your friend also? And wouldn't you rather call your closest friend by name instead of the title "friend". Maybe you stop and pray on these things before you go on, but please do go on!

B. The name of the Son

Well this one should be pretty easy to figure out. Most of us have heard of the story of the Son all our lives. Unfortunately some lost souls never have.


STOP RIGHT NOW AND PRAY FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NEVER HEARD THE GOOD NEWS ABOUT THE SON. I AM SURE THAT WE COULD ALL AGREE THAT WITHOUT THIS KNOWLEDGE THERE IS NO HOPE.


The good news has been preached for thousands of years. The Son, when He commissioned his disciples said:

"Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature." Mark 16:15

In searching to find the name of the Son I will only use one portion of scripture. However this does not mean I want to belittle His importance. Remember that Simeon said after seeing the Son. I can now depart in peace for my eyes have seen Your salvation oh Lord. So let's examine this portion of scripture to find the name of the Son.

"And she shall bring forth a Son (NOT HIS NAME) , and thou shalt call his name Jesus: for he shall save his people from their sins. Now all this was done, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken of the Lord by the prophet, saying, Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a Son (NOT HIS NAME), and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us. Then Joseph being raised from sleep did as the angel of the Lord had bidden him, and took unto him his wife: And knew her not till she had brought forth her firstborn son: and he called his name Jesus." Matthew 1: 21-25

IF the Son is not the Sons name and the Son Himself said I come in my Fathers name, and the Father is not the Fathers name. We can conclude, from the verses we have read that the name of the Father and Son must be the same, which is Jesus. The name Jesus according to Vines Expository Dictionary: a transliteration of the Heb. "Joshua," meaning Jehovah is salvation, i.e., is the savior.

Did you notice here that the Father was going to send the Holy Ghost? Look who else the Bible says would send the Holy Ghost.

"But when the comforter is come, whom I (THE SON) will send unto you from the Father, even the spirit of truth which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me." John 15:26

So we can see that the Father and the Son were going to send the Holy Ghost. Now we have seen in Matthew 1:18-20 that the Holy Ghost and the Father are the same. We have also seen in John 14: 6-10 that the Father and Son are the same. So we can conclude that the Son and the Holy Ghost are the same? NO, not unless the Bible says so!

"And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him;but you know Him for HE dwells with you and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you." John 14: 16-18

We know that Jesus did exactly what He said, He did not leave His disciples orphans. On the day of Pentecost He came to them filling them with His Spirit, Which has all been recorded on the second chapter of the book of Acts.

2. Return of The Great Commission

I have shown through the scriptures that when the Son said "go ye therefore and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost." He was referring to His name Jesus. You may still choose not to believe me, but let's honestly pray to understand the importance of this subject in light of the scriptures. If you did stop and pray all the times I asked you to, In whose name did you pray? Did you say in the Sons name amen? No probably not, because Son is not a name. Besides we all know if we don't ask in Jesus name it won't be answered.

"And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it." John 14: 13-14

Let's look now, at another portrayal of the Great Commission.

"He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned." Mark 16:16

I know that Jesus does not say anything about a name in this verse. Look with me though at what the Apostle Peter said in Acts 4:12.

"Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved."

Wow that is a powerful verse. Just think what an awesome God we serve. That gave us wicked men a name, His name which leads to salvation. Look again with me at the Great Commission in Mark 16:15-16

"And he said unto them, Go into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature. He that believeth (IN THAT ONE NAME) and is baptized (IN THAT ONE NAME) shale be saved: but he that believeth not (IN THAT ONE NAME) shall be damned."

When you look at it that way it puts it all into perspective doesn't it? Well maybe not for you yet, but let's dig a little deeper. Let's examine the portrayal of the Great Commission that Luke gave us.

"And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it behooved Christ to suffer, and rise from the dead the third day: And that repentance and (NOT FOR) remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. And ye are witnessed of these things. And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high." Luke 24:46-49

Here in these verses the issue of baptism comes up in the phrase "REMISSION OF SINS" which is a direct result of baptism. I want to take you, if I may to a place in Jerusalem were repentance and remission was preached in His name for the first time. The Apostle Peter stood up in the midst of three thousand plus people and preached Jesus to them. You can read the whole account in Acts 2. I will however pick it up in verse 32.

"This Jesus hath God raised up, whereof we all are witnesses. Therefore being by the right hand of God exalted, and having received of the Father the promise of the Holy Ghost, he hath shed forth this, which ye now see and hear. For David is not ascended into the heavens: but he saith himself, The Lord said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, Until I make thy foes thy footstool. Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly, that God hath made the same Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ. Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles, Men and brethren, what shall we do? Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name (NOT THE FATHER, AND OF THE SON, AND OF THE HOLY GHOST, BUT) Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost. For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the Lord our God shall call." Acts 2:32-39

Notice here it states to be baptized in the NAME OF JESUS CHRIST!! Well it may have been bold of me to point it out the way I did, but we do need to honestly admit that the titles Father, Son and Holy Ghost do not appear as the name to be baptized unto. I know that most, if not all of you have been taught differently then this. You may have been taught the same way Donald G. Hunt was. Mr. Hunt has been an evangelist for many years. He is very well educated and even helped start the Midwestern School of Evangelism in Ottumwa, Iowa. He has written numerous study books and is currently the Editor of the "Voice of Evangelism." In his study book "The Unfolding Plan of God" he makes this statement:

"The importance of baptism is seen from the great commission in another way also. Did you know there is only one thing in all the Bible that is to be done in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit? That is baptism: "Baptizing them into the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost." (Matt 28:19)

There is not another thing in all the book of God so given. Anything connected with the name of Godhead surely must be important."

Are we to assume from the words of Mr. Hunt that the name of the Godhead is Father, Son, and Holy Ghost?? Let alone the fact that Peter on the day of Pentecost surely must not have understood the Lords command. We have seen plainly through the scriptures that, Father, Son, and Holy Ghost are titles or positions not names. I'm sure Mr. Hunt has the best intentions at heart, but again the Bible is our guide. Look what is has to say about the Godhead.

"Beware Lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the traditions of man, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ. For in him dwelleth all the fullness of the Godhead bodily." Colossians 2:8-9

Some of you may say, well that was the way the Jews at that time were to be baptized. Today however we Gentiles use Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Well most of us are Gentiles so lets examine the way the Bible says the Gentiles were baptized. Here again we see Peter preaching, but this time it is to the Gentiles at Cornelius' house.

"Can any man forbid water, that these should not be baptized, which have received the Holy Ghost as well as we? And he commanded them to be baptized in the name of the Lord. Then prayed they him to tarry certain days." Acts 10:47,48

OK, OK I know it doesn't say in the name of Jesus here but remember what we read in Acts 2:36. "Therefore let all the house of Isreal know assuredly that God hath made that name Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ."

Others of you may say, well it was just Peter who understood baptism this way. besides Paul was the Apostle to the Gentiles and he said: Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel. Well that is 100% correct but lets read the preceding verses to get the whole picture.

"Now this I say, that every one of you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Gophas; and I of Christ. Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were ye baptized in the name of Paul? I thank God that I baptized none of you, but Crispus and Gaius; Lest any should say that I had baptized in mine own name." 1 Corinthians 1:12-15

We can see that Paul as well as Peter knew that there is just one name to be baptized unto. When we read Acts 19:2-5 we can see just that.

"He (Paul) said unto them, Have ye received the Holy Ghost since ye believed? And they said unto him, We have not so much as heard whether there be any Holy Ghost. And he said unto them, Unto what then were ye baptized? And they said, Unto John's baptism. Then said Paul, John verily baptized with the baptism of repentance, saying unto the people, that they should believe on him which should come after him, that is, on Christ Jesus. When they heard this, they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus."

There may be some of you that are still not totally convinced that baptism in Jesus name is a must. I hope and pray however that when you read these next few verses God will reveal to you the truth about baptism in light of His name.

"Now when the apostles which were at Jerusalem heard that Samaria had received the word of God, they sent unto them Peter and John: Who, when they were come down, prayed for them, that they might receive the Holy Ghost: (For as yet he was fallen upon none of them: only they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus.)" Acts 8:14-16

"Then Philip opened his mouth, and began at the same scripture, and preached unto him Jesus. And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized? And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God. And he commanded the chariot to stand still: and they went down both into the water, both Philip and the eunuch; and he baptized him." Acts 8: 35-38

Note: Philip baptized the people of Samaria in the name of Jesus. So we know that he did the same with the eunuch.

"And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord." Acts 22:16

I hope this study has not been to exhausting for you. In it we have seen that baptism in Jesus name is the only way the Bible states it is to be performed. It is not just some passing fad,it is the way Jesus or Lord wanted it done. It is also the only way the Apostles did it! I pray that you now see the truth, and have changed your mind about baptism. If not I will share only one more verse with you. Notice with me, as we read, the importance of a name. Then think just how important not only your name is, but also the name of Jesus.

"And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire." Revelations 20:15

Thank you for your time and patience. If you would like tracts on this vital subject or any other subject, please contact me. I would be happy to send you tracts on whatever you may have questions on. Or find a body of believers in your area. That teach these and other biblical truths.


In Christ,

Bro. Chris Conn

Now time for action! Go forward and tell someone about Jesus Christ and fulfill the great commission!

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Keep Faith During Grief

Matthew 5:4 "Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted." Would you believe mourning makes us more like Jesus? The shortest verse in the bible is John 11:35 "Jesus wept." He wept for the

Does God Care about my Depression?

Depression is something anyone can suffer from. You can see those in their greatest times have felt very low. Stories from the bible show this. Elijah asked for his life to be taken even though he was

God Called I Followed (Finding my way to God)

Joel 2:13 And rend your heart and not your garments." Now return to the LORD your God, For He is gracious and compassionate, Slow to anger, abounding in lovingkindness And relenting of evil. To start

bottom of page