top of page

Does God Care about my Depression?

Depression is something anyone can suffer from. You can see those in their greatest times have felt very low. Stories from the bible show this. Elijah asked for his life to be taken even though he was a great man of God. Jeremiah regretted the day he was born. For some of us our depression comes from the horrible things that have happened, and that's when I look at the story of Job. A man who seemingly had everything taken from him, and his own wife told him to curse god and die in the midst of everything. Despite everything this man gripped through his hardships, and how did he do this? He had a great faith in God.



God is what you need to heal, but just because you have God doesn't mean you can't become depressed. Many Christians hide their depression. They shout they have the joy of the lord yet their mind is weary. Just because you have the lord doesn't mean Earthly consciousness cannot get you down. The lord is your healer, but ignoring what needs to be healed can't help you. Let you and the lord take your first steps together with healing. Not every miracle happens overnight. Not every prayer is answered the day after. Our Earthly journey is just that a journey, and we need God to help us with this journey. Journey's have hard times and good times. Journeys help us grow and learn, but journeys can also feel as though we ran into a tall stone wall. Keep calling out to God and he will help you over the wall.



Now God is our great healer, but I am a person who believes God put doctors, therapists, and psychologists on our earth for a reason. If you are a person who is dealing with great mental anguish yes keep asking for God and his healing. Keep praying and worshiping our lord, but don't be afraid to use the resources on earth to help you. I personally find therapy quite helpful and healing. I'm not a big fan of medication for myself, but if that's what you need then use it. Don't let yourself get to deep in the waters of depression that you can't get out. If you need Earthly help to put you in the right direction use the people God has put here to help you all. Those of us with physical issues still go to the doctors even though we pray to God for healing, and I believe mental health is just the same. Just in all of this never loose faith in God.



Many loose faith in the Lord when depressed. I personally understand the feeling. In the breek of hard times I completely tore myself away from God. Now I have found him again and understand the healing he has done. As I prayed to him and believed in him I've healed in ways I've never known was possible. In healing you need to know that yes your depression is a very real illness for one and two God does care about those who are depressed, it's in his word. David was depressed "Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am faint; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are in agony. My soul is in anguish. How long, O Lord, how long?. … I am worn out from groaning; all night long I flood my bed with weeping and drench my couch with tears" (Psalm 6:2-3, 6). God gave David comfort, "Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever" (Psalm 23). Others examples are Job which I stated above which God blessed for the rest of his life. God loves us and doesn't like to see us suffer.


Now what are some of the things your church and God provides for depression? Number one prayer. Talk to God tell him your struggles yourself ask for healing. Number two is seek counseling in your pastor or youth leader. These people can give you great knowledge in how to get help through God, and may also have had a same struggle and may share their story in ways of guidance. Three is hanging out with friends you've made who also have God. Sometimes the wrong crowd can bring you down mentally and spiritually. Spend time with those who can lift you up in both ways. Four is read your scripture and ask questions. Sometimes those who are depressed can take scripture the wrong way. So read God's word, but if you find yourself stuck on a scripture don't be afraid to ask others opinion (including your pastor and/or youth leader) on it's meaning.



In this article I hope to convey the message that being depressed is okay, and getting Earthly help is okay. Just don't let yourself loose Gods light in the darkness. Don't be afraid to seek help in God and those that help you here on Earth! God bless!


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Keep Faith During Grief

Matthew 5:4 "Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted." Would you believe mourning makes us more like Jesus? The shortest verse in the bible is John 11:35 "Jesus wept." He wept for the

God Called I Followed (Finding my way to God)

Joel 2:13 And rend your heart and not your garments." Now return to the LORD your God, For He is gracious and compassionate, Slow to anger, abounding in lovingkindness And relenting of evil. To start

bottom of page